About Malaysia


Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy in Southeast Asia. It consists of thirteen states and three federal territories and has a total landmass of 329,847 square kilometres (127,350 sq mi) separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo.

Land borders are shared with Thailand, Indonesia, and Brunei, and maritime borders exist with Singapore, Vietnam, and the Philippines. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government.

Capital Cities
Kuala Lumpur is the national capital. Other cities Ipoh, Malacca, Johor Baru, Penang, Selangor, Kuching, Kota Kinabalu, Kota Baru, Kuala Terengganu, Miri.

329,847 sq. km. (127,315 sq. mi.) It has land borders with Thailand in West Malaysia, and Indonesia and Brunei in East Malaysia.

Bahasa Melayu (official), English, Chinese, Tamil, indigenous.

Islam (63.7%), Buddhism (17.7%), Christianity (9.4%), Hinduism (6%), other/none (3.2%).

Ringgit Malaysia (MYR)

Since it became independent in 1957, Malaysia’s economic record has been one of Asia’s best. Real gross domestic product (GDP) grew by an average of 6.5% per year from 1957 to 2016. Nominal GDP: $296.4 billion USD (2016).

High levels of foreign and domestic private investment played a significant role as the economy diversified and modernized. Once heavily dependent on primary products such as rubber and tin, Malaysia today is a middle-income country with a multi-sector economy based on services and manufacturing.

Malaysia is one of the world’s largest exporters of semiconductor devices, electrical goods, solar panels, and information and communication technology (ICT) products. Malaysia maintains high levels of foreign exchange reserves and has relatively little external debt.

Natural resources: Petroleum, liquefied natural gas (LNG), tin, minerals. Agricultural products: Palm oil, rubber, timber, cocoa, rice, tropical fruit, fish, coconut.

Population (2018)
32.4 million (91.8% citizens and 8.2% non-citizens)

Ethnic Groups
50.1% Malay, 22.6% Chinese, 11.8% Indigenous, 6.7% Indian, 8.8% Other


Telephone Code

Time Zone
GMT/UTC +8 ()

Coastal plains and interior, jungle-covered mountains. The South China Sea separates peninsular Malaysia from East Malaysia on Borneo.

Malaysia is an equatorial country and as a result has a uniform temperature throughout the year. The variation in temperature annually is less than 2°C except for the gold coast areas of Peninsular Malaysia. The Peninsular area is often affected by cold waves that originate from Siberia during the northeast monsoon. However the annual variation here is less than 3°C.